Love is in the air: A birthday tribute to Banksy and my Holy Grail of street art

This shot comes not from some splintered doorway or electrical box, in fact I have yet to find an authentic Banksy on the streets of Barcelona. This image instead can be found on my right shoulder, and is one of Banksy’s most famous pieces as rendered by Oscar at Sputnink Tattoos here in Gràcia. It was a birthday present from me, to me and came only after three or four months of thought and consideration. I had a number of my favorite street art images in mind for the tattoo, but finally decided on this one, as it is one of the works I would most like to see in its natural habitat, my Holy Grail of street art. As famous as it has become, the chances of finding it “in the wild” are slim to none, and so I thought this would be the next best thing. I think the artist did a great job and I’m happy with the results, though still a bit itchy.

