This year’s August getaway once again took me north, this time to Copenhagen. The cool days and downright chilly evenings were a welcome change from the haze and crowds which dominate mid-August in Barcelona and Gràcia. I was initially a bit frustrated, as the city wasn’t as easy to navigate as I thought it would be when planning on the net and google maps, but later realized that I was in a city that was made first for citizens and later for tourists. The polar opposite of the Spanish model. I’m not at all surprised that this city was recently rated one of Europe’s happiest capitals. I could feel it on the streets, and it’s not an artificial, drunken, happiness, but rather a sense of peace and tranquility. I have to qualify this by saying I only spent 5 days in the city, and stayed in the well-gentrified, hipster-happy district of Vesterbro, and the nearby meatpacking district. The meatpacking district is now widely considered the new “cool” neighborhood, if what many travel blogs say is true. While it hasn’t become the overpriced hell which is NYC’s former meatpacking, as there are still butchers and meat distributors among the hour-wait-for-brunch restaurants, it’s probably destined to a similar fate. Speaking of food, it doesn’t come cheap, but you get what you pay for, and perhaps a bit more.
The trip’s biggest disappointment, and it wasn’t even a disappointment in the letdown sense, was the free zone of Christiania Freetown. It was interesting, but felt a bit past its prime. Nonetheless, I did manage to sneak a few shots of some of the interesting murals within.

