This year’s teaching timetable brings me to the neighbouring city of Badalona, a 20-minute metro journey from the Sagrada Familia. I had only ever passed through on the train, which doesn’t provide a very good view of this huge suburb. Even now, the place where I have my evening classes takes me nowhere near the Badalona waterfront, where one can now find a statue which pays tribute to the Anís del Mono (Monkey brand anisette), one of Badalona’s most famous exports. Despite the lack of maritime views, I was pleasantly surprised to find quite a few painted walls in the area surrounding the Pep Ventura metro station. It’s an otherwise unremarkable zone, a typical residential neighbourhood that can be found througout the Barcelona metropolitan area, but definitely worth a trip if you’re running out of things to photograph in the usual places.

