As the title suggests, I had some free time between lunch and having to race off the nieghbouring city of Badalona for my afternoon classes, so I decided to take a trip down Diagonal to the Murs Lliures which is found just a bit north of the Diagonal Mar shopping centre. This space consists of the walls which I think surround what was once an office for the famous “La Caixa” bank and is one of the bigger spaces where artists can sign up to paint. Along with the numerous elaborate tags, a few pieces definitely stood out: a portrait of a mad sushi chef who also seems to be working on a bowl of ramen, some quite feminine images, of which the giant dancer’s legs are my favourite. The image which stood out most for me was the replica of the cover for the 1994 album Ready to Die from the late, great Biggie Smalls (aka Notorious BIG, aka Christopher Wallace). It continues to be one of my favourite albums of all time, hip hop, or otherwise. Definitely recommended.

